Per Delaware policy (below) door-to-door solicitors are required to clearly display an official ID card and may only operate between 9AM to 8PM. All businesses that operate in this manner must be registered with the state. You can always check their credentials to ensure that they are registered on the state’s website https://dorweb.revenue.delaware.gov/d2d/
Please be respectful in your interactions with these individuals. However, if they are not abiding by the state’s policies or you feel threatened the NCC Police NON-Emergency line should be contacted at 302-573-2800.
Any person who solicits door-to-door sales to a residential home in the State of Delaware is now required to display a Salesperson Identification Card (ID card).
Pursuant to House Bill 49 of Delaware’s 146th General Assembly, Salesperson ID Cards must be worn at all times when conducting door-to-door sales in Delaware. In addition, door-to-door sales in Delaware may only occur between the hours of 9 a.m. and 8 p.m. EST.
Delaware residents are encouraged to call their local police departments if they see anyone in their neighborhoods conducting door-to-door sales without wearing the registered Salesperson ID Card, or if they are visited by someone who isn’t wearing a registered Salesperson ID Card.
Failure by a business to comply with H.B. 49 by conducting door-to-door sales without wearing the registered Salesperson ID Card could result in criminal prosecution, as well as fines of up to $150 for the first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense. Anyone wearing a forged ID Card that has not been issued by the State of Delaware, or falsely obtained for deceitful or malicious intent, also faces criminal prosecution and fines of up to $150 for the first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense.